Regional Board of Trustees

SUNY Corning Community College receives its authority from the State University of New York (SUNY) and is governed by fourteen trustees.

Seven trustees are appointed by its supporting counties—Chemung, Schuyler, and Steuben. Six are appointed by the Governor of New York State, and one is elected by the students. All trustees are residents of the College region and serve seven-year terms, except the student trustee who serves a one-year term. Their terms of service vary in length, and they can be reappointed for extended terms.

Regional Board of Trustees Statement on Social Justice

As the governing body of an institution dedicated to diversity, equity and inclusion, the Regional Board of Trustees of SUNY Corning Community College reaffirms the College’s mission to provide access to a high-quality education for all individuals in a safe and open environment. Accordingly, in light of recent events that serve a painful reminder of the role that systemic racism plays in our country, the College is strongly committed to standing up for the oppressed and the marginalized and to constantly improving our practices, policies and programs so that they are deeply rooted in guiding principles of social justice and reform. Recognizing the gravity of the situation, the Regional Board of Trustees supports the President’s recently announced actions:
· Create town hall sessions and educational series on social justice, antiracism, and equity for all students, faculty and staff at our college
· Enhance cultural competency training for all who lead our institution and deliver our courses, programs, and services
· Evaluate data to address disproportionate outcomes and identify issues of inequity and disparate treatment.


The Board is scheduled to meet at the Health Education Center, 132 Denison Parkway East, Corning, New York. Committee meetings start at 5:15 p.m. and Board meetings start at 6:15 p.m. Please note, due to COVID-19 restrictions, some meetings may be held remotely.  This will be announced on the public website as well as on MyCCC, and the meeting will be available to the public through streaming or recording. 

Committee Meetings Board Meetings
July 20, 2020 July 30, 2020
June 8, 2020 June 18, 2020
April 20, 2020 April 30, 2020
March 2, 2020 
March 12, 2020
January 13, 2020 January 21, 2020
November 25, 2019 December 5, 2019
October 1, 2019 October 10, 2019
July 22 & 24, 2019 August 6, 2019
June 4, 2019 June 13, 2019
April 16, 2019 April 25, 2019
February 26, 2019 March 7, 2019
January 31, 2019  
January 8, 2019 January 17, 2019
November 6, 2018 November 15, 2018



Current Trustees
Name Appointed County Term Expiration
Nancy M. Wightman, Chair  County Steuben 2020 
Dr. Christa Y. Heyward, Vice-chair Governor Chemung 2023
Michael J. Wayne, Treasurer County Chemung 2022 
Ronald E. Allison County Chemung 2026
Thomas F. Beers County Steuben  2024
Carl H. Blowers County Schuyler 2022
Judy McKinney Cherry Governor Schuyler 2023
Polly M. Chu County Steuben 2026
Nykole L. Parks Governor Chemung 2023
Heather Reynolds Governor Steuben 2023
Alan S. Winston County Chemung 2025
TBA, Student Student Association, Government Assembly   2021