Certificate of Residence
To qualify for in-state tuition rate, you are required by NYS Education Law to submit once each academic year a certificate of residence (COR) to the SUNY CCC Student Accounts office indicating that you have been a legal resident of New York State for 1 year and of a county for 6 months. A certificate of residence from your home county is the only proof of residence that allows you to pay the in-state tuition rate.
New York counties will issue certificates for up to 60 calendar days prior to the start of a semester and until 30 days into the semester. Counties are permitted by law to refuse COR applications after the 30th day of the semester, and many counties adhere to this deadline with NO EXCEPTIONS.
The steps to obtain a COR are:
Step 1. Click on the county you live in below.
Step 2. Follow the instructions for your county to complete an application. Some of the counties have their own applications, and some allow you to use the college's standard application.
Step 3. Have your application notarized. Most banks have a notary available at their drive up windows. The college will have notaries available at the Spencer Hill campus and the Elmira Center in January 2021.
Step 4. Submit your application to your county per the instructions for your county.
Step 5. Check your student account (My CCC/My Banner/Student & Financial Aid/Student Account/Online Payment & Billings/Transactions) 2 weeks after submitting your application to the county. If the non-resident tuition fee has not yet been credited to your student account, follow up with the county to ensure that a COR has been issued and sent to the college.
IMPORTANT - PLEASE DO NOT SUBMIT THE APPLICATION TO THE COLLEGE. YOU MUST SUBMIT THE APPLICATION TO YOUR COUNTY (CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW). YOUR COUNTY WILL ISSUE A CERTIFICATE OF RESIDENCE, WHICH YOU SUBMIT TO CCC AT COR@CORNING-CC.EDU. IF YOU SUBMIT AN APPLICATION TO THE COLLEGE INSTEAD OF THE COUNTY, THERE WILL BE A DELAY IN OBTAING YOUR CERTIFICATE OF RESIDENCE.
The $135 per credit hour non-resident tuition fee will be charged to any student who has not submitted a valid certificate of residency to the Student Accounts Office.
To apply for a Certificate of Residency, please refer to your county website below.
Please refer to the above links for specific county information and applications. If a generic application is allowed or needed, please use this: